Hans Bräuner-Osborne

Hans Bräuner-Osborne


Academic degrees
2002: D.Sc. (dr. pharm.) Danish University of Pharmaceutical Sciences.
1996: Ph.D. Molecular Pharmacology, Royal Danish School of Pharmacy, Copenhagen.
1993: M.Sc. Pharmacy, Royal Danish School of Pharmacy, Copenhagen.

2002-present: Professor of Molecular Pharmacology, Department of Drug Design and Pharmacology, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, University of Copenhagen.
2000-2001: Research Associate Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistry, Danish University of Pharmaceutical Sciences.
1997-1999: Research Assistant Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistry, Royal Danish School of Pharmacy.
1993-1996: PhD student, Department of Medicinal Chemistry, Royal Danish School of Pharmacy.

Awards & honors
2015: Elected member of the Danish Academy of Natural Sciences.
2012: Elite Researcher Prize, Ministry of Science (1.2 million DKK).
2011: Elected member of the Danish Society for Theoretical and Applied Therapy.
2007: Alfred Benzon Senior Researcher Stipend.
2006: The Lundbeck Foundation Prize for Young Investigators (250,000 DKK) .
2006: The Torkil Holm Foundation Research Prize (100,000 DKK) .
2006: Elected member of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters.
2002: The Benzon Foundation 50th Anniversary Honorary Prize (100,000 DKK) .
1997: The Danish Academy of Natural Sciences PhD award.
1994: H.C. Ørsted Medal, Royal Danish School of Pharmacy.
1992: Fulbright Fellowship

Selected scientific and academic activities
2017- : Vice President and Chair of the Class of Natural Sciences at the the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters.
2016- : Member of the presidium of the the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters.
2016- : Member of the board of the Alfred Benzon Foundation.
2013- : Head of the graduate program in pharmaceutical sciences, Drug Research Academy.
2012- : Member of the board of the Niels Bohr Foundation.
2008- : Member of the board of the journal Basic & Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology.
2015-19: Head of Section for Experimental Pharmacology.
2013-17: Management committee member and work group co-chair of the European Research Network COST Action CM1207 "GLISTEN: GPCR-Ligand Interactions, Structures, and Transmembrane Signalling".
2013-15: Member of the executive committee of the Faculty Research Committee.
2007-11: Member of the European Research Council (ERC) Expert Panels for Starting Grants (StG) - chairman for 2011 call.
2007-10: Member of the Board, University of Copenhagen Alumni.
2004-10: Member of the Danish Medical Research Council.
2004-10: Board member of the WorldPharma2010/IUPHAR congress.
2000- : Member of evaluation committees of 3 professorships, 2 assistant professorships and 30 PhD defenses (chairman of 19).
1993- : Invited speaker at >60 international scientific meetings and seminars.

185 peer-reviewed articles in international journals
17 book chapters and proceedings
Co-editor of 1 book and 1 special issue of Neurochemical Research
>7000 citations (ISI)
 h-index: 43 (ISI)

10 recent publications:
Jørgensen, C.V., S.J. Gasparini, J. Tu. H. Zhou, M.J. Seibel and H. Bräuner-Osborne. Metabolic and skeletal homeostasis are maintained in full locus GPRC6A knockout mice. Sci. Rep. (in press).
Nøhr, A.C., M.A. Shehata, D. Palmer, R. Pokhrel, M. Vallianou, S.R. Foster, P.R. Gentry, D.E. Gloriam, and H. Bräuner-Osborne. Identification of a novel scaffold for a small molecule GPR139 receptor agonist. Sci. Rep. 9: 3802 (2019).
Jacobsen S.E., U. Gether and H. Bräuner-Osborne. Investigating the molecular mechanism of positive and negative allosteric modulators in the calcium-sensing receptor dimer. Sci. Rep. 7: 46355 (2017).
Jacobsen S.E., I. Ammendrup-Johnsen , A.M. Jansen, U. Gether, K.L. Madsen and H. Bräuner-Osborne. The GPRC6A receptor displays constitutive internalization and is being sorted to the slow recycling pathway. J. Biol. Chem. 292: 6910-6926 (2017).
Clemmensen, C., C.V. Jørgensen, S. Smajilovic and H. Bräuner-Osborne. Robust GLP-1 secretion by basic L-amino acids does not require the GPRC6A receptor. Diabetes Obes. Metab. 19: 599-603 (2017).
Jørgensen S., C.T. Have, C.R. Underwood, L.D. Johansen, P. Wellendorph, G. Rui, A.P. Gjesing, C.V. Jørgensen, S. Quan, G. Rui, A. Inoue, A. Linneberg, N. Grarup, W. Jun, O. Pedersen, T. Hansen and H. Bräuner-Osborne. Genetic variations in the human GPCR6A receptor controls cell surface expression and function. J. Biol. Chem. 292: 1524-1534 (2017).
Xiong, X.-F., H. Zhang, C. R. Underwood, K. Harpsøe, Thomas J. Gardella, Mie F. Wöldike, Michael Mannstadt, D. E. Gloriam, H. Bräuner-Osborne, K. Strømgaard, Total synthesis and structure-activity relationship studies of a series of selective G protein inhibitors. Nature Chem. 8: 1035-1041 (2016).
Nørskov-Lauritsen, L., S. Jørgensen and H. Bräuner-Osborne. N-glycosylation and disulfide bonding affects GPRC6A receptor expression, function and dimerization. FEBS Lett. 589: 588-597 (2015).
Clemmensen, C., S. Smajilovic, P. Wellendorph and H. Bräuner-Osborne. The GPRC6A receptor: From cloning to physiological function. Br. J. Pharmacol. 171: 1129-1141 (2014).
Christiansen, B., T. Kvist, K.K. Madsen, L. Jørgensen, S.B. Vogensen, A. Schousboe, R.P. Clausen, A.A. Jensen and H. Bräuner-Osborne. Discovery of a subtype selective inhibitor of the human betaine/GABA transporter 1 (BGT-1) with a non-competitive profile. Biochem. Pharmacol. 86: 521-528 (2013).

Recipient of research grants of approx. 77 million DKK from external foundations, councils and pharmaceutical companies and of approx. 23 million DKK from internal competitive funding.
Current external funding:
Horizon2020 - Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions
Danish Council for Independent Research | Medical Sciences
The Lundbeck Foundation
The Novo Nordisk Foundation

Post doctoral mentorship
Ee von Moo, 2019-
Christinna V. Jørgensen, 2018-
Thor C. Møller, 2017-
Patrick R. Gentry, 2017-
Line Vedel, 2015-
Mie F. Pedersen, 2018-2019
Simon R. Foster, 2015-2018
Christina Rye Underwood, 2014-2018
Stine E. Jacobsen, 2016-2017
Christian B. Billesbølle, 2016-2017
Trine Kvist, 2013-2016
Stine Jørgensen, 2013-2015
Dan Palmer, 2014
Sanela Smajilovic, 2009-2013
Christoffer Clemmensen, 2013
David Gloriam, 2008-2012
Daniel Sejer Pedersen, 2008-2012
Jesper Mosolff Mathiesen, 2008-2012
Vikram Kjøller Bhatia, 2010-2011
Kasper Bø Hansen, 2007-2010
Petrine Wellendorph, 2006-2010
Anders A. Jensen, 2001-2008

PhD principal supervisor
Yufang Deng, 2018-
Iris Mos, 2016-
Michael W. Boesgaard, 2016-
Mie Fabricius Wöldike, 2015-2019
Angela Arsova, 2015-2018
Christinna V. Jørgensen, 2014-2019
Maja Jessen, 2014-2018
Anne Cathrine Nøhr, degree in 2017
Stine E. Jacobsen, degree in 2017
Hanna Belcik, degree in 2016
Line Vedel, degree in 2015
Lenea Nøskov-Lauritsen, degree in 2014
Vignir Isberg, degree in 2014
Henrik Johansson, degree in 2014
Kirsten Bayer Andersen, degree in 2013
Christina Mølck, degree in 2013
Trine Kvist, degree in 2013
Christoffer Clemmensen, degree in 2013
Alex Rojas Bie Thomsen, degree in 2012
Lars Dan Johansen, degree in 2010
Bolette Christiansen, degree in 2009
Karen Krzywkowski, degree in 2008
Bo Hansen, degree in 2007
Kasper Bø Hansen, degree in 2006
Petrine Wellendorph, degree in 2006
Jesper M. Mathiesen, degree in 2005
Mette B. Hermit, degree in 2004
Steffen Runge, degree in 2003
Anders A. Jensen, degreee in 2001


Dr. pharm., ph.d.

ID: 1302910